Skip to main content

How do I close my account or delete my user?

Issue

I am no longer a member of a Sentry org and would like to close my account. Logging in at my old organizations URL isn't possible.

Applies To

  • Any Sentry User

Resolution

  1. You'll need to log in via https://sentry.io/auth/login if you no longer have an organization membership.

  2. Then Navigate to the "Close Account" page of your User Settings view: https://sentry.io/settings/account/close-account/ Ensure you are in User Settings, not Organization Settings, to avoid confusion.

  3. Review the information on the page, then select Close Account.

  4. Your account will be queued for deletion in the next 24H.

  5. The above will move your user account to an inactive state.

Please note: Your user will be fully deleted 30 days after your last login

You will receive an email notification when your account enters pending deletion. Your account will remain in this state for 30 days, during which you can log back in to cancel the deletion.

Please note:

We cannot delete a user when requested by someone else. User deletions need to be self-served.

Please remove the user from your organization instead if you want to revoke access to your org.

Recovering Account Access

If you cannot remember the email associated with your Sentry account, try the following:

  • Search your email inboxes for previous Sentry messages (e.g., search for "Sentry" or emails from [email protected]).

  • Once you identify the correct email, use the password recovery option to reset your password and regain access. If you have changed your account email and removed the old one, but your Google login is still tied to the old email, follow these steps:

  1. Attempt to log in using Login with Google, ensuring you select the Google account that matches your new email address.

  2. If your account does not have a password, create one using the password recovery flow for your new email address:

    • Open the Forgot/Recover Password page.

    • Enter your new email and follow the instructions to set a password.

  3. Use the new email and password to log in.

  4. Please note: Account deletion requires access to your registered email. If you cannot log in due to lost email access, you must first regain access to the email to proceed.

Did this answer your question?